Council of Jewish Women of New Zealand

The Council of Jewish Women of New Zealand was founded in 1929.  It has two branches who meet regularly, and 5 branches where the women receive the mail and pass it on.  At these 5 branches the women have input into policy etc.

The Council branch in Auckland meets four times a year, participating in Jewish community events as well and general community projects.  The Wellington branch is the most active, with regular meetings, working for the Jewish community and on general community projects.

Our members are very active in interfaith community and our branches in Palmerston North, Wellington, Auckland and Christchurch  are affiliated  to the National Council of Women of New Zealand.

National President: Shirley Payes
Email: maspayes(at)
or Anna Benda – email: bendahutt(at)